Black Clouds and Major Tides

Black Clouds and Major tides.

First I would like to thank Angela at the Cystic Fibrois office in
Jacksonville for running a great tournament. I wasn’t available to
attend the captain’s meeting thursday night (Ryan and I were at the CCA banquet in Orlando) but Charlie took the Redbone Emerger to the Gun Club for the Captains meeting and had a great response.
I arrived at 1am and was at the docks by 6:15 were I met my Captain, James Dumas and my fishing partner Jim Sutton.
Captain Dumas is a very knowledgeable guide and energetic in his approach to fish the tidal waters around St. Augustine and Jim Sutton is an excellent fisherman who pens the area with his fishing articles and reviews.
After finding out we were all Florida “crackers” we headed off into
Friday constantly looking to the north as the black clouds inched there way toward us. Small trout and a couple of legal ones along with oysters, grouper, sea robins, needle fish, flounders, mangrove snappers and whatever else happened by gave us a fun filled day. 3rd week in a row where I have experienced major tides, this day it was a 5’…. amazing. You think I would have figured it out by now.
3 pm Black Clouds let loose and that was it for the day.
Saturday, with a good night sleep under me, I headed over to the marina to meet my team and try to inhale enough coffee to keep us warm with the 49 degree temperature and a strong North West wind making the wind chill factor freaking cold. Legal trout by 7 am, alright we are on a roll !, next legal fish 1:45 pm alright I feel like I was rolled over, but good times and great stories made the trip great. Captain James Dumas is a guide that will be written about in the future for his local knowledge and movements of the fish in their habitats, and I look forward to fishing with him again.
Jim is an encyclopedia of information from the fishing tackle world and has traveled to some interesting places and his articles reflect it. At the wrap up party met some more real cool people and I look forward to going back there to fish.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

